Louisiana-based progressive death metal project A Novelist recently announced the upcoming February 8th, 2019 release of their sophomore full-length, Folie. The band once again enlisted the talents of renowned sound engineer Jamie King (Between The Buried And Me, Wretched, etc.) to ensure the best possible production for their new album.

 A Novelist is the creative partnership of drummer Alex Babineaux and vocalist, guitarist, and multi-instrumentalist Ben Nugent. Started in 2009 between friends in Lafayette, Louisiana, they began with the simple goal of writing and playing death metal. Over time their goals as a band grew larger, driven by a bold desire to expand the idea of what death metal can be through free and uncompromised expression.

Today the band partnered with  Decibel Magazine to launch “Tombeau”, the third single to air from their upcoming second full-length, Folie. Set for release on Friday, February 8th.

*You can listen to A Novelist – “Tombeau” HERE

Decibel comments on today’s premiere of “Tombeau”
“The Louisiana-based group emerged in 2015 with their debut album Portraits and have since been working on its follow up, Folie. A Novelist have lost none of their technical prowess, as they demonstrate on new song “Tombeau,” which features one complex riff after another, moving from black metal-esque tremolo-picked flurries to finger-stretching death metal riffs to solos that could’ve been featured in Guitar Hero.

The song, and its accompanying album, as the band explains, has a meaning that goes far beyond pushing death metal to its physical limits.”

**Pre-orders for A Novelist – Folie are now live


A Novelist – Folie Track Listing
1. Folie Noire
2. Exteriors
3. Tombeau
4. Apparitions
5. His Kingdom is Vast
6. Strangers in the House of Auto-da-Fe
7. Acacia Crown
8. Caveat Lector
9. Stockholm Blues
10. Crestfallen
11. Learning Paralysis
12. Interiors

A Novelist – Folie Line-Up 
Ben Nugent – Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Keys, Effects (Nethermost Majesty)
Alex Babineaux – Drums (Nethermost Majesty) 

*Backing vocals performed by Alex Babineaux, Chelsea Self, and Jessica Morgan
*Guest musician: Marc “Elder” Linam – Tenor saxophone, Alto saxophone, Baritone saxophone, C-melody saxophone, Clarinet, Oboe, and Flute