Sweden’s progressive death mongers MOURNING SIGN will release their third album, Contra Mundum, on December 20 on Orchestrated Misery Recordings.

New song “Nest of Vipers” is streaming here.

Having formed in 1992 near Hallstahammer, Sweden, the band quickly hit the studio with their debut recording Last Chamber, which helped secure a recording contract with the Italian label Godhead.

The following year the band released the mini-CD Alienor (1993) followed by the self-titled Mourning Sign (1995).

Both received favourable reviews from the media, but the band’s second full length, Multiverse (1996), left many scribes and followers stunned.

Multiverse set the standard for progressive death metal, but alas the following year the band simply went on hiatus.

Members eventually started new projects (Sweden’s Amaran one of several) and continued to churn out progressive-sounding material over the years.

Having reformed in 2016 MOURNING SIGN sought to continue their attitude and achievements, thus creating their third album, Contra Mundum (meaning in Latin to defy or oppose everyone else).

Recorded in the year 2018, this release will be limited to only 500 copies, and features some incredible guitar work from Kari Kainulainen and Petri Aho.

Track Listing

  1. Dualism
  2. Homage to a Dying World
  3. Nest of Vipers
  4. Sights of Woe
  5. The Defiant Pupil
  6. These Scars
  7. Who Will Crown the King
  8. Sleep
  9. White Light
  10. The Devils We Adore