On November 2nd, 2018, US dark melodic metal masters WITHERFALL will release “A Prelude to Sorrow”, the highly anticipated follow-up to 2017’s “Nocturnes and Requiems”. Now, the band presents a guitar & bass playthrough video of the previously released single ‘Moment Of Silence’.


Enjoy Jake Dreyer and bassist Anthony Crawford play through ‘Moment Of Silence’ HERE.



On “A Prelude to Sorrow”, main songwriters Joseph Michael (vocals, Sanctuary – live) and Jake Dreyer (Iced Earth) succeeded in perfectly combining the group’s technical proficiency with an appropriate eerie and somber atmosphere, manifesting also in Kristian Wåhlin’s majestic cover painting. “A Prelude to Sorrow” was mixed and mastered by Chris “Zeuss” Harris (Sanctuary, Queensryche, Iced Earth)




WITHERFALL – A Prelude To Sorrow

1. A Prelude To Sorrow (1:27)

2. We Are Nothing (11:13)

3. Moment Of Silence (6:55)

4. Communion Of The Wicked (6:40)

5. Maridian’s Visitation (3:1)

6. Shadows (7:08)

7. Ode To Despair (3:49)

8. The Call (2:11)

9. Vintage (11:06)

10. Epilogue (2:47)


The album will be released as Limited Edition Digipak, jewelcase CD (US only), gatefold 2LP plus poster and etching on Side D as well as digital album.


The following limited vinyl colours are available:

  • 400x transparent blue vinyl – only available HERE
  • 200x clear vinyl – only available at Century Media’s European store HERE
  • CD/LP plus t-shirt bundles available HERE

View all “A Prelude To Sorrow” pre-orders HERE.


Catch WITHERFALL in Japan supporting KAMELOT:





Jake Dreyer – Guitars

Joseph Michael – Vocals/Keyboards

Anthony Crawford – Bass

Fili Bibiano – Guitar

Steve Bolognese – Drums


Stay up to date with the band through their Facebook page HERE, website HERE, and Instagram HERE.