ATLAS have just released their first full length album entitled “Primitive” and their aptly coined genre branding of ‘northcore’ is a suiting term representing their interpretation of metalcore from the northern wilds of Finland. This nine track album challenges genre standards encompassing the heavy technicalities of hardcore as well as melodic harmonies and shattering vocals.

The 5 piece have been working on this album since 2015, but it is well worth the time in the end, according to the band:

“The process was long and one of the hardest things we’ve ever set out to do but we’re all extremely happy and proud of how it came out in the end. Working with Tuomas and Buster was great from start to finish and I don’t think we could have picked better people to make this album with. We also had the absolute pleasure to work with George Christie (Winds of Plague, Shields, A Night In Texas, etc.) who did most of the synth production on the album. Unfortunately George passed away earlier this year but he left behind some of the best music we’ve ever heard. It was an honor to work with him and his memory will live on through his music. ’’

The album was recorded at Sonic Pump Studios in Helsinki with audio engineer and producer Tuomas Yli­Jaskari (Lost Society, Valkeat, etc.). The mixing and mastering took place in Sweden at Impact Studios by Buster Odeholm (Born of Osiris, Sworn In, Humanitys Last Breath, etc.). The album was released October 5th through Inverse Records and is available on SpotifyiTunesGoogle Play and RecordshopX.

Track Listing:
1. Skinwalker (3:41)
2. Feel (3:59)
3. Kaamos (3:32)
4. On Crooked Stones (3:51)
5. Primitive (2:49)
6. Pareidolia (3:31)
7. Pendulum Swing (3:47)
8. Bloodline (feat. Ben English) (3:11)
9. Rust (5:40)
Album Length: 34:05

Patrik Nuorteva -Vocals
Tuomas Kurikka – Guitar
Aleksi Viinikka – Guitar
Leevi Luoto – Bass/Vocals
Aku Karjalainen – Drums

In additional news, ATLAS are currently on European tour with Monuments, Vola and Kadinja until November 11, 2018.

Connect with Atlas online: