Montreal prog quartet FRACTAL CYPHER are getting ready to release their mini-album ‘Prelude To An Impending Outcome’ in November and have just unveiled the artwork and the track listing. This 4 song mini-album promises to be a roller coaster of genres across completely different sounding songs with intimate lyrics influenced by personal experiences.

“’Prelude To An Impending Outcome’ is a mini album of 4 songs that are completely different from one to another to create a maximum roller coaster effect and make it non linear and interesting to listen to. The clash of style is more important and more obvious than our previous album, but the songs have gained in maturity in term of songwriting and sound. The vibe of this album is really more intimate, due to the lyrics and the overall ambiance/universe of the songs. The melodic side of the band is still really present, offering catchy vocal lines and outstanding solos all over the songs.” – FRACTAL CYPHER

Each track has a different prominent genre influence from power ballad, blues, djent and jazz with the band’s heavy and melodic base as an anchor. The album artwork was done by Silent Q Design out of Montreal and foreshadows the moody and existential prog metal that lies within. Although this album is more intimate with different textures and influences, the reception to its predecessor should be a prime indication of the talents of FRACTAL CYPHER; this next release is sure to be a masterwork.

Track Listing:
1. Coming Back To Life (10:13)
2. The Grandeur Of It All (6:52)
3. From The Above And To The Stars (8:04)
4. Red Lady (9:30)
Mini-Album Length: 34:30

‘Prelude To An Impending Outcome’ will be self released on November 8th 2018.

For more info:


Fractal Cypher exists to captivate audiences with progressive instrumentals that cut through the mesmerizing vocals and provide a new perspective on each listen. Straight out of the heart of Canada’s metal scene, these Montreal metallers constantly shift their compositions with seamless transitions and theatrical interludes to keep audiences on their toes.

Since 2014, Simon Lavoie (vocals), Ludovick Daoust (keyboard), Vincent Bruneau (guitar), Tommy Fradette (bass) and Steven Cope (drums) have been committed to a constant evolution; the powerful quintet is just as versatile in their music as they are in their musical interests, darting between djent and classic rock whilst anchoring on a power and death metal core.

Their debut album ‘The Human Paradox’ was released in September of 2016, with the follow up mini-album ‘Prelude To An Impending Outcome’ slated to be revealed in November of 2018.