Tacoma, Washington natives Aethereus are on the cusp of releasing their new album ‘Absentia’ this Friday, August 10th through The Artisan Era. It is the follow up to 2015’s ‘Ego Futurus’ EP which featured Oblivion/ex-The Zenith Passage drummer Luis Martinez. ‘Absentia’ is the group’s first release with new members Matt Behner on drums (ex-Fully Consumed/ex-Year of Desolation) along with Vance Bratcher (Vocalist) and Scott Hermanns (Bassist) who play in the highly praised Seattle symphonic death metal outfit The Devils of Loudon.

The group’s take on progressive death metal deftly combines elements of atmospheric death metal, ferocious technical death metal, and more overtly melodic death metal focused ends of the spectrum into a sound all their own. Aethereus cites influences ranging from Obscura, Spawn of Possession, Cynic, and Gorod which rightly shows in the ambitious and smartly crafted songs found on ‘Absentia’.

Today the band partnered with Metal Injection to premiere an early full album stream of Absentia ahead of its release this Friday, August 10th via The Artisan Era.

Guitarist Kyle Chapman comments on the upcoming release of Absentia
“Absentia” is loosely structured around the Kübler-Ross Five Stages of Grief (Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, and Acceptance). Musically, lyrically, and conceptually, the album follows the stages of grief and describes the experience of losing a loved one and the lasting impact that person’s absence has on an individual, a group, and life as a whole. It begins in a chaotic and bombastic manner, goes into some somber places, but ultimately ends on a somewhat hopeful note.”

Pre-orders for ‘Absentia’ are now live via the below links:

‘Absentia’ Tracklisting:
1. Cascades of Light
2. Writhe
3. Mortal Abrogation
4. Fluorescent Halls of Decay (Ft. Brody Uttley of Rivers of Nihil)
5. Absentia
6. That Which is Left Behind
7. The Black Circle
8. With You, I Walk
9. The Pale Beast

Aethereus – Absentia Line-Up
Vance Bratcher – Vocals  (The Devils of Loudon/Six Days of Darkness)
Kyle Chapman – Guitar/Vocals
Ben Gassman – Guitar
Scott Hermanns – Bass  (The Devils of Loudon/ex-Blood and Thunder)
Matthew Behner – Drums  (ex-Fully Consumed/ex-Year of Desolation)