Washington natives Aethereus recently announced the upcoming Friday, August 10th release of their debut album ‘Absentia’ through The Artisan Era. It is the follow up to 2015’s ‘Ego Futurus’ EP which featured Oblivion/ex-The Zenith Passage drummer Luis Martinez. Absentia is the group’s first release with new members Matt Behner on drums (ex-Fully Consumed/ex-Year of Desolation) along with Vance Bratcher (vocalist) and Scott Hermanns (bassist) who play in the highly praised Seattle symphonic death metal outfit The Devils of Loudon. The new line-up rounds out an already strong musical foundation set by founding guitarists Kyle Chapman and Benjamin Gassman who have been writing together since their early days in 2008 and onwards in their previous project known as Seker.

Right from the get-go, Sam Nelson‘s (Allegaeon, First Fragment, Vale Of Pnath) ethereal cover artwork draws you into the richly textured and often beautiful world Aethereus creates musically on Absentia’. The group’s take on progressive death metal deftly combines elements of atmospheric death metal, ferocious technical death metal, and more overtly melodic death metal focused ends of the spectrum into a sound all their own. Aethereus cites influences ranging from Obscura, Spawn of Possession, Cynic, and Gorod which rightly shows in the ambitious and smartly crafted songs found on Absentia’. ‘Absentia’ is a prime death metal experience fans of the genre will go crazy for.

Today the band partnered with No Clean Singing to premiere the album’s first single, The Pale Beast. You can listen to Aethereus – The Pale Beast here: