“a band whose sound remains beautifully ruined” – The Big Issue
“The power of Harmony is in their collateral hushed charisma that bursts into a cathartic baptism of fire” – The Music

Melbourne’s HARMONY is stoked to announce their 3rd album ‘Double Negative’ will be released on July 20 through Poison City Records. Led by the singles Fatal Flaw and new single I Love You, the video for which has been released today, Double Negative is the band’s first new release in four years and the follow up to 2014’s critically acclaimed ‘Carpetbombing’. Harmony has also announced a string of East Coast dates with special guests, giving you the chance to hear ‘Double Negative’ live for the first time this August. Full details are below.

I Love You is the very fittingly titled opening track to ‘Double Negative’. Where they have previously waded in the waters of loss, grief and despair, on ‘Double Negative’, HARMONY – Tom Lyngcoln (The Nation Blue), Alex Lyngcoln, Jon Chapple (Mclusky), and the chorus of Erica Dunn (MOD CON, Tropical Fuck Storm), Amanda Roff (Time For Dreams) and Quinn Veldhuis – turn their heads toward the light, to talk about capital L for Love, which is perhaps an even more confronting topic than the darkness that preceded it. They approach love in typically blunt fashion, leaning into matters of the heart with an appreciation for its complexities that is uniquely theirs, as shown in the video for ‘I Love You’ where they’re individually framed, performing whilst drenched in shadows and smoke. From the bedroom to the staffroom and all the intersecting arteries in between, together they delve into an exploration of Love – a complicated structure bound by raw desire.

Recorded at Kyneton Mechanics Hall by producer Mike Deslandes, Double Negative is a stunning departure from the no-fi rough sketches of Harmony’s previous work; the natural acoustics of the hall captured in majestic hifi. Across 10 songs they lope and swagger and occasionally erupt into white noise, just as you’d come to expect from them, but it hums in stark contrast to the light brought by the chorus of harmony. Together Erica Dunn, Amanda Roff and Quinn Veldhuis, provide a new devotional dimension to these songs that elevates the band from the crucible of grief in which their alchemy previously rendered a tarnished and dull gold. It’s these vocal refrains that star on Double Negative. Almost ten years in, they have settled into a cohesive wall of sound capable of true moments of majestic cacophony and beauty once described as “a floodlight into a pitch-black cavern” (The Australian).

From the moment Tom Lyngcoln and Alex Lyngcoln said “I do”, Harmony became the bleak and harrowing musical output for an otherwise happy marriage. Together they have collaborated with some of the world’s finest songwriters, including Tom Waits’ long time guitarist Marc Ribot and Don Walker from Cold Chisel, and toured Australia tirelessly, including appearances at All Tomorrow’s Parties, Boogie, Golden Plains and The National Gallery of Victoria, countless tours up and down the coast and across the nation, and a suitably dark performance at Dark Mofo this coming Saturday 16 June. Since forming in 2009 they have released three 7” singles, an AIR-nominated self-titled debut album (2011), and their sophomore album Carpetbombing (2014), which was met with critical acclaim. It landed Album of the Week in The Brag and The Music with a stellar 4.5 star review, 4 stars in The Australian, The Big Issueand Sydney Morning Herald and feature albums on PBS FM and FBi Radio. Its sister release and bonus album Deconstructions featured re-imaginings of Carpetbombing by some of Australia’s best musicians, including Adalita, Batpiss, Spod, TV Colours and Mick Turner of The Dirty Three.

Double Negative track listing:
1. I Love You
2. Two Sides of my Heart
3. Love is a Chemical High
4. Double Negative
5. Indifference
6. Class Action
7. Sovereign Bedrooms
8. Fatal Flaw
9. Private Life
10. It Hurts

HARMONY – Double Negative Tour

Friday 3 August – Street Theatre, Canberra
w/ Tangents | Tickets on sale from the venue
Saturday 4 August – Factory Floor, Sydney
w/ Spike Vincent & Loose Fit | Tickets on sale from the venue
Saturday 11 August – The Tote, Melbourne
w/ Fungus Brains, Michael Beach Band & Venetian Blinds
Tickets on sale through Oztix
Saturday 18 August – Sonic Masala Festival, Brisbane
Tickets on sale through Oztix


Follow Harmony:
Facebook | Instagram | Bandcamp