Epic Canadian Metal Force GATEKEEPER has partnered with Beatroute for the premiere of “Warrior without Fear,” a song from forthcoming Cruz Del Sur Music album East of Sun. Stream the song and check out an interview with rhythm/lead guitarist Geoff Blackwell at: beatroute.ca/2018/04/05/premiere-vancouver-metallers-unleash-warrior-without-fear-east-sun/

GATEKEEPER will embark on the East of Sun Tour later this month, including the band’s first ever appearance at Germany’s renowned Keep it True Festival on April 27. Comments guitarist/founding member Geoff Blackwell:  “Two of our members have played Keep It True in the past, but for me, this will be new territory and I’m extremely excited, needless to say. The Keep It True crowd is legendary in our niche so it’s hard not to have big expectations for the weekend. We want to get people moving, get them talking and we want to meet as many cool people as possible and make a bunch of new friends and fond memories. It’s gonna be great!”

“We are going to bring our A-game to that stage, just like we do every night,” he continues. “GATEKEEPER puts on a high-energy performance and the past two years of regular gigging have turned the band into a tightly wound, well-oiled heavy metal machine.” 

GATEKEEPER should be heading into Keep It True and additional live shows with plenty of momentum based on the early response to East of Sun. The album, adorned with artwork from renowned British artist Duncan Storr (DARK FOREST, SKYCLAD), is being recognized as the veritable epic metal statement that it is, made all the more special considering GATEKEEPER was started as nothing more than a simple home studio project by Blackwell.

“It’s been a pleasant surprise to have this much early buzz and positive support,” he says. “The first day of pre-orders left us completely stunned and I’m very happy with the response to our music video for Blade Of Cimmeria.’ I can’t wait to reveal the other cool things we’ve got in store for everyone. We still have a few weeks before the album is out and we are almost completely sold out of pre-order LPs, so I’d suggest folks snap those up really quick!”

GATEKEEPER upcoming live shows:

April 20 – Char’s Landing – Port Alberni, British Columbia

April 21 – Logan’s Pub – Victoria, British Columbia

April 27 – Keep It True Festival – Germany

May 12 – Pat’s Pub – Vancouver, British Columbia

June 9 – Decimate Metalfest – Calgary, Alberta

June 10 – The Wolf – Maple Ridge, British Columbia

June 30 – Munnin’s Post – Kelowna, British Columbia

July 14 – Armstrong Metal Fest – Armstrong, British Columbia

August 4 – Shred The Loops Festival – Kamloops, British Columbia

GATEKEEPER will release its debut full-length album East of Sun April 27 on Cruz Del Sur Music. Pre-orders are available at this location.

The compact disc version of East of Sun includes two CD-only bonus tracks (OMEN’s “Death Rider” and SAVATAGE’s “Hall of the Mountain King”). The gatefold vinyl LP version includes an A2 poster and digital download code. Acclaimed artist Duncan Storr (SKYCLAD, RAGE, DARK FOREST) painted the gorgeous album cover. Recorded over the span of six months at Harbourside Studios in Vancouver, Canada, East Of Sun was produced by Mike Rogerson, whose previous credits include ANNIHILATOR, AGGRESSION, 88 MILE TRIP and LOVERBOY.

The East of Sun title is a shortened version of a book of Scandinavian folk tales that parallels the content on the record where each song stands on its own. The album boasts a mixture of older, unreleased material written by guitarist Geoff Blackwell which are complemented by live staples that have recently been updated. In the words of Blackwell:

“East of Sun is pure heavy metal with a sword and sorcery flourish. We wear our influences on our sleeves, but we don’t want to be a pale imitation of them. We try to capture the spirit of what we love without copying anyone’s’ notes. This album has our fastest song and it’s got our biggest, most epic slow-burner and many songs in between. It has melodic electric guitar playing coupled with fierce riffs, thunderous rhythms, mystical acoustic passages and, of course, a unique and varied performance from our singer, Jean-Pierre Abbaud (SPELL, BORROWED TIME).”

Originally formed in 2009 as a solo project by guitarist Geoff Blackwell, GATEKEEPER has assembled an impressive array of EPs and splits, including an appearance on Metal Blade’s Metal Massacre XIV to which they contributed “Bell Of Tarantia.”

Recommended for fans of OMEN, early MANOWAR, MANILLA ROAD, and ATLANTEAN KODEX!

Track List
1. Blade of Cimmeria
2. North Wolves
3. Warrior Without Fear
4. Ninefold Muse
5. Bell Of Tarantia
6. East Of Sun
7. Swan Road Saga
8. Oncoming Ice
9. Death Rider (CD bonus track)
10. Hall Of The Mountain King (CD bonus track)